Video: 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award

The APSA Distinguished Teaching Award honors the outstanding contribution to undergraduate and graduate teaching of political science at two- and four-year institutions. The contribution may span several years or an entire career, or it may be a single project of exceptional impact.

The Recipient is John Ishiyama, University of North Texas.

Ishiyama receives awardIshiyama’s foundational work and leadership within APSA has helped build important infrastructure to promote Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, enhanced research on teaching and learning, and left a strong legacy for future educators. He served as founding editor-in-chief of the Journal of Political Science Education from 2004 until 2012, when he assumed the role of lead editor of the American Political Science Review. He was one of the founders and architects of the APSA Teaching and Learning Conference, an important conference that equips and encourages political science educators around the world. His impressive range of pedagogical articles, papers, and monographs testify to his commitment to elevating teaching in the discipline. His wide range of accomplishments also includes directing undergraduate research programs, securing grants to fund research and mentoring programs, and serving in leadership roles with the APSA Teaching and Learning Committee and Pi Sigma Alpha.

It is likely little surprise that Ishiyama has received many awards for his teaching, research, and mentoring. His recognitions include the Ronald E. McNair Program Outstanding Service Award, the Ulys and Vera Knight Faculty Mentor Award, the APSA Political Science Education Distinguished Service Award, the Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar Award, the Carnegie Foundation US Professor of the Year for Missouri, the Missouri Governor’s Award for Teaching Excellence, and the William O’Donnell Lee Advising Award. It is an honor for us to add the 2015 APSA Distinguished Teaching Award to these many accolades.

Thanks to the Award Committee: Amy Black, Wheaton College, chair;  Michael Leo Owens, Emory University; and Tomas Koontz, University of Washington, Tacoma.