Susan Haire Receives the 2022 Frank J. Goodnow Award

The Frank J. Goodnow Award is presented annually by the American Political Science Association (APSA) to honor distinguished service to the profession and the Association.   

Susan Brodie Haire is Professor and Head of the Department of Political Science at the University of Georgia’s School of Public and International Affairs.

Professor Haire’s research in judicial politics, funded by the National Science Foundation, has focused on the U.S. Courts of Appeals, inter-court relations, and the impact of racial and gender diversity of judges on judicial decision-making.  Her books include Diversity Matters. Judicial Policymaking on the U.S. Courts of Appeals (with Laura P. Moyer) and Continuity and Change on the United States Courts of Appeals (with Donald R. Songer and Reginald S. Sheehan), and her articles have appeared in leading outlets such as the American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, Law and Society Review, and Journal of Law and Courts.

Throughout her career, Professor Haire has been fortunate to work with outstanding colleagues, including current and former students.  She has championed diversity, equity, and inclusion, using her committee assignments and leadership roles to advocate for the establishment and optimization of fair and inclusive procedures and processes.  In 2015, she founded a UK study abroad program in affiliation with the University of Liverpool that she continues to direct.

Citation from the Award Committee:  

Professor Susan Haire’s longstanding commitment to service in the profession, impressive for both its breadth and depth, stood out to the awards committee.  Her record of service demonstrates a career-long dedication to improving the profession through mentorship, teaching, and service.  Prominent among these contributions has been Professor Haire’s advocacy on behalf of students and colleagues whose voices might otherwise remain unheard, as well as her support of numerous junior scholars.  Professor Haire’s service and mentorship contributions began when she was an early career scholar, making her dedication to a career of service even more notable.

An exemplar of service to the profession of political science, Professor Haire is President-Elect of the Southern Political Science Association, where she has served as both Program Chair and Section Chair for its annual conferences and been a member of the Executive Council since 2015.  Professor Haire also served as Program Director for the National Science Foundation’s Law and Social Science Program from 2007 to 2009.  In her current position at the University of Georgia, she has served for ten years as Director of the interdisciplinary Criminal Justice Studies Program, will become the first female Head of the Department of Political Science in the Fall of 2023, and is a 2022-2023 Women’s Leadership Fellow.

Professor Haire has demonstrated a wide-ranging commitment to the American Political Science Association, serving the organization in a variety of capacities.  She has long been a leader in the APSA Law & Courts Section (chairing the Section’s Nominating Committee, Best Conference Paper Award Committee, Lifetime Achievement Award Committee, and C. Herman Pritchett Book Award Committee, and serving on many other committees).

A dedicated teacher and mentor, Professor Haire earned the 2016 “Teaching and Mentoring Award” from the APSA Law & Courts Section. She has been a champion of diversity, equity, and inclusion, a commitment reflected in her recent scholarship on how the embodied diversity of federal judges affects judicial decision making.  An advocate for inclusiveness in the academy, Professor Haire has served on several university and college committees at the University of Georgia to develop and implement family-friendly policies. She also used her time as Program Director at NSF to advance important conversations on diversity in the discipline.  For these reasons and more, we are pleased to confer the 2022 Frank J. Goodnow Award on Professor Susan Haire, of the University of Georgia.

APSA thanks the committee members for their service: Dr. Caroline A. Hartzell (chair) of Gettysburg College, Dr. Kerstin Hamann of the University of Central Florida, and Brian Lai of the University of Iowa.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.