APSA Awards: Submit Nominations for the 2020 John Gaus Award Due February 14th

One of the many important roles of the American Political Science Association (APSA) is recognizing excellence in the political science profession.  The APSA makes awards for the best dissertations, papers and articles, and books in the various subfields, and for career achievement in research, teaching and service to the discipline.  These awards will be presented at the 2020 APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

The John Gaus Award and Lectureship honors a lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration. The award carries a cash prize of $2,000, and the recipient delivers a lecture at the APSA Annual Meeting. Submit a nomination here!

About the 2019 Award Recipient

Dr. J. Edward Kellough is Professor and PhD Director in the Department of Public Administration and Policy at the University of Georgia (UGA).  He served previously for 6 years as the Head of the Department of Public Administration and Policy at UGA and as the UGA MPA Director for 8 years.  Dr. Kellough specializes primarily in the field of public sector human resources management.  He teaches graduate courses in public personnel administration; public sector labor relations; EEO, affirmative action, and diversity; public sector job evaluation and compensation; public administration and democracy; and research methods.

Dr. Kellough is an elected Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration.  He has served as President of NASPAA, the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration.  He served also as a member of the NASPAA Executive Council and on the NASPAA Commission on Peer Review and Accreditation.  He was the Chair of the Section on Public Administration of the American Political Science Association and the Chair of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA), Section on Public Administration Education.  He is currently the Chair-Elect of the ASPA Section on Personnel and Labor Relations.  He is on the editorial boards of several academic journals.