APSA Awards: Submit Nominations for the 2018 Carey McWilliams Award

The Carey McWilliams Award is given annually to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics. It carries a $750 prize. Eligible candidates must meet the criteria laid forth by the first organizing committee. The individual chosen

  • should have a distinguished public service career in newspaper, magazine, or broadcast media;
  • should, in his or her work, illumine some broad general principles of the social and political sciences;
  • may have a background in editorial activities and not necessarily be a working journalist or writer, and
  • should illumine certain key elements identified with McWilliams, which include intellectual forthrightness and political independence.

 Nominations must be received by Monday, February 12, 2018.  Submit a nomination here! 

About the 2017 Award Recipient
Jake Tapper: CNN Chief Washington correspondent and anchor, Jake Tapper, has worked as a journalist in the Washington D.C. area for more than 15 years. He joined CNN in 2013, and currently hosts The Lead with Jake Tapper, and CNN’s Sunday show, State of the UnionBefore joining CNN, Tapper was Senior White House Correspondent for ABC news.  During his nearly ten-year stint at ABC, Tapper was central to ABC’s award winning national and international political coverage. Before ABC he worked as Washington and National correspondent for Salon.com. His reporting has also appeared in prestigious outlets such as The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Washington Post, The LA Times, and The Weekly Standard.