Two Political Scientists Named As Fellows of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

The AAPSS Board has elected five distinguished scholars, two of which are political scientists–Katherine Cramer and Helen Milner–to be inducted as Fellows of the Academy at a ceremony to be held in Washington, DC, on October 8, 2020.

With the induction of the 2020 cohort, the AAPSS will have awarded 140 Fellowships in the 20 years that its Fellows program has existed. Most of the Academy’s Fellows are university-based scholars who have changed our understanding of human behavior and the world in which we live; others are public servants who have used scholarly research in government to improve the common good.

Katherine Cramer is a political scientist whose work focuses on the way people in the United States make sense of politics. Cramer’s innovative approach to the study of public opinion has added depth to the analysis of attitudes of residents of democracies. She is a professor of political science and Natalie C. Holton Chair of Letters & Science at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Helen Milner is a political scientist who has written extensively on international and comparative political economy, the connections between domestic politics and foreign policy, and the impact of globalization on domestic politics. She is B.C. Forbes Professor of Public Affairs and a professor of politics and international affairs at the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University.