Thomas E. Mann — 2019 Hubert H. Humphrey Award Recipient

The American Political Science Association (APSA) will present the Hubert H. Humphrey Award to Dr. Thomas E. Mann at the 2019 APSA Annual Meeting & Exhibition, the world’s largest gathering of political scientists and source for emerging scholarship in the discipline.  The $1,000 award recognizes notable public service by a political scientist.

Thomas E. Mann is a Senior Fellow in Governance Studies at The Brookings Institution and Resident Scholar, Institute of Governmental Studies, University of California, Berkeley.  Mann has taught at Princeton University, Johns Hopkins University, Georgetown University, the University of Virginia and American University; conducted polls for congressional candidates; worked as a consultant to IBM and the Public Broadcasting Service; chaired the Board of Overseers of the National Election Studies; and served as an expert witness in the constitutional defense of the McCain-Feingold campaign finance law.  He lectures frequently in the United States and abroad on American politics and public policy and is also a regular contributor to newspaper stories and television and radio programs on politics and governance.

Mann’s published works include Unsafe at Any Margin: Interpreting Congressional ElectionsVital Statistics on CongressThe New CongressA Question of Balance: The President, the Congress and Foreign PolicyMedia Polls in American PoliticsRenewing CongressCongress, the Press, and the PublicIntensive Care: How Congress Shapes Health PolicyCampaign Finance Reform: A SourcebookThe Permanent Campaign and Its Future; Inside the Campaign Finance Battle: Court Testimony on the New ReformsThe New Campaign Finance Sourcebook; and Party Lines: Competition, Partisanship and Congressional Redistricting. In 2008, Mann and Norman Ornstein published an updated edition of The Broken Branch: How Congress is Failing America and How to Get It Back on Track (Oxford University Press).  Their next book, a New York Times bestseller entitled, It’s Even Worse Than It Looks: How the American Constitutional System Collided With the New Politics of Extremism, was published by Basic Books in the spring of 2012.  New expanded paper editions were released in 2013 and 2016.  In 2017, Mann collaborated with E.J. Dionne, Jr. and Norman Ornstein in writing One Nation After Trump: A Guide for the Perplexed, the Disillusioned, the Desperate, and the Not-Yet-Deported.  It was published by St. Martin’s Press and became an instant New York Times bestseller.

Here is what the Award Committee had to say about their decision:

Dr. Thomas E. Mann earned his B.A. at the University of Florida and his M.A. and Ph.D. at the University of Michigan, all in political science. He came to Washington, D.C. in 1969 on a Congressional Fellowship, working in the offices of Senator Philip A. Hart and Representative James G. O’Hara. He served as executive director of the American Political Science Association (1981-1987) before moving to the Brookings Institution as Director of Governmental Studies (1987-1999) and the W. Averell Harriman Chair (1991-2014).

Dr. Mann is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. He was honored with both the Frank J. Goodnow and Charles E. Merriam Awards of the American Political Science Association.

A prolific author, a university teacher, a pollster, a consultant, an expert witness, the former Chair of the Board of Overseers of the National Election Studies, a frequently sought out lecturer in the United States and abroad, and a regular contributor to news stories as well as a commentator on television and radio, Dr. Thomas Mann continues to demonstrate an extraordinary commitment to political science, public policy, and public service.  In addition to more than a dozen books, including two New York Times best sellers, Dr. Mann has also written numerous scholarly articles and opinion columns on a wide range of topics in American politics, including elections, campaign finance, political parties, Congress, the presidency, and public policymaking.

For his extraordinary achievements and exemplary commitment to scholarship, good governance and public service, Dr. Thomas E. Mann is truly deserving of the Hubert H. Humphrey Award.