John Ishiyama Receives the University of North Texas Foundation’s Eminent Faculty Award

Award Description

The UNT Foundation Eminent Faculty Award recognizes a faculty member, who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to scholarly-creative activity, teaching, and service and has served as an inspiration to the University of North Texas community. This award is one of the university’s highest faculty honors and is given to one full-time faculty member annually. The annual award includes a one-time payment of $15,000, a commemorative engraved gift, and the distinction of Eminent Faculty.

About John Ishiyama

John Ishiyama was APSA’s July 2019 member of the month and is University Distinguished Research Professor of Political Science at the University of North Texas, and has been at UNT since 2008.  He has his PhD in political science from Michigan State University (1992). Prior to his position at UNT,  he was Professor of Political Science at Truman State University. He is also the former Editor- in -Chief for the American Political Science Review, (2012-16) and was the founding editor-in-chief of the APSA Journal of Political Science Education.  He was one of the principals involved in the establishment of the APSA Teaching and Learning Conference. He is currently principal investigator and Director of the National Science Foundation-Research Experience for Undergraduates (NSF-REU) program on Civil Conflict Management and Peace Science.

His research interests include democratization and political parties in post communist Russian, European, Eurasian and African politics, ethnic conflict and ethnic politics and the scholarship of teaching and learning.  He has recently worked on both post-civil war politics and the politics of North Korea, a country which he has followed closely for many years. He has published extensively on these topics, producing eight books and over 150 journal articles and book chapters (in journals such as the American Political Science Review, Political Research Quarterly, Political Science Quarterly, Comparative Political Studies, Comparative Politics, Social Science Quarterly, Party Politics, Europe-Asia Studies, and Democratization). He was a member of the American Political Science Association (APSA) Executive Council, and an executive board member of the Midwest Political Science Association and Pi Sigma Alpha (the national political science honorary society). He has also served as the President of the International Studies Association-Midwest Region and is currently a Vice President of Midwest Political Science Association.  He has received numerous awards including the 2018 APSA Frank Goodnow Award, the Quincy Wright Distinguished Scholar in 2009 by the International Studies Association, the 2010 APSA Heinz Eulau Award for Best Political Science Journal Article by the American Political Science Association, the 2016 Charles Bonjean Best Article Award by the journal Social Science Quarterly, and the 2015 Distinguished Teaching Award, the highest award for teaching conferred by the APSA. He has received major grants from the US National Science Foundation, the US Department of Education, the US Department of State, and the American Political Science Association.