James C. Scott Receives the Albert O. Hirschman Prize, Social Science Research Council’s Highest Honor

The Social Science Research Council (SSRC) is proud to announce that James C. Scott is the recipient of the 2020 Albert O. Hirschman Prize, the Council’s highest honor.

The biennial Hirschman Prize is awarded to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to international, interdisciplinary social science research, theory, and public communication.

The nominating committee for this year’s prize, composed of SSRC Board member Naomi Lamoreaux of Yale University, SSRC Board member Walter Powell of Stanford University, and William Milberg of the New School for Social Research, cited Scott as “the epitome of a broad-ranging scholar with influence across a multitude of disciplines.” The committee noted that a “gentle, humanistic approach toward policy runs through Scott’s enormously influential oeuvre, making him a fitting candidate for this prize.”