IPSA Council Elects New President, University of Notre Dame Professor Dianne Pinderhughes

New President of IPSA, Professor Dianne Pinderhughes of University of Notre Dame

The IPSA Council, the highest decision-making body of the Association, has elected Professor Dianne Pinderhughes, as the new President of IPSA, succeeding Professor Marianne Kneuer. Professor Pinderhughes will serve a two-year term from 2021 to 2023. Pinderhuges has also served as president of the American Political Science Association (APSA) (2007-2008).

Professor Pinderhughes is Notre Dame Presidential Faculty Fellow and Professor in the Department of Africana Studies and the Department of Political Science. She holds a concurrent faculty appointment in American Studies, is a Faculty Fellow at the Kellogg Institute, and is a Research Faculty member in Gender Studies at the University of Notre Dame. Her research addresses inequality with a focus on racial, ethnic and gender politics and public policy in the Americas. She also explores the creation of American civil society institutions in the twentieth century and analyzes their influence on the formation of voting rights policy.

Professor Pinderhughes’ publications include Uneven Roads: An Introduction to US Racial and Ethnic Politics (co-author; 2014); Race and Ethnicity in Chicago PoliticsA Reexamination of Pluralist Theory (1987); Black Politics After the Civil Rights Revolution: Collected Essays (forthcoming);  Race, Gender, and the Changing Face of Political Leadership in 21st Century America (co-author; forthcoming).

Read more here.