APSA Podcast: A Conversation with Philip Pettit — 2019 Benjamin E. Lippincott Award Recipient

The American Political Science Association (APSA) presented the Benjamin E. Lippincott Award to Philip Pettit at the 2019 APSA Annual Meeting & Exhibition, the world’s largest gathering of political scientists and source for emerging scholarship in the discipline.  The $5,000 award supported by the University of Minnesota recognizes a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that is still considered significant after a time span of at least 15 years since the original date of publication. 

Philip Pettit is L.S. Rockefeller University Professor of Human Values at Princeton University and Distinguished Professor of Philosophy, Australian National University. Philip is also the recipient of the American Political Science Association’s prestigious Lippincott award for his book: Republicanism: A Theory of Freedom and Government, first published in 1997 by Oxford University Press. The Lippincott award is given in recognition of exceptional work by living political theorists and it is still considered significant after a timespan of at least 15 years since the original publication. In the conversation that follows, Phillip and Amanda Grigg, Director of APSA’s Centennial Center, discuss the origins of his interest in Freedom, the relationship between his theory of Freedom as non-domination and Republican Thought, and the surprising ways his work was applied for the Spanish government.


Listen to the podcast: