APSA Awards: Submit Nominations for the 2020 Hubert H. Humphrey Award Due February 14th

One of the many important roles of the American Political Science Association (APSA) is recognizing excellence in the political science profession.  The APSA makes awards for the best dissertations, papers and articles, and books in the various subfields, and for career achievement in research, teaching and service to the discipline.  These awards will be presented at the 2020 APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

The Hubert H. Humphrey Award honors notable public service by a political scientist. The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $1,000. This award is intended to honor former Vice President Humphrey’s distinguished career and life of public service. Submit a nomination here!

About the 2019 Award Recipient

Thomas E. Mann is a Senior Fellow in Governance Studies at The Brookings Institution and Resident Scholar, Institute of Governmental Studies, University of California, Berkeley.  Mann has taught at Princeton University, Johns Hopkins University, Georgetown University, the University of Virginia and American University; conducted polls for congressional candidates; worked as a consultant to IBM and the Public Broadcasting Service; chaired the Board of Overseers of the National Election Studies; and served as an expert witness in the constitutional defense of the McCain-Feingold campaign finance law.  He lectures frequently in the United States and abroad on American politics and public policy and is also a regular contributor to newspaper stories and television and radio programs on politics and governance.