APSA Awards: Submit Nominations for the 2020 Barbara Sinclair Award

One of the many important roles of the American Political Science Association (APSA) is recognizing excellence in the political science profession.  The APSA makes awards for the best dissertations, papers and articles, and books in the various subfields, and for career achievement in research, teaching and service to the discipline.  These awards will be presented at the 2020 APSA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

The Barbara Sinclair Award and Lectureship recognizes achievement in promoting understanding of the U.S. Congress and legislative politics. The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries an honorarium of $1,000. The honorarium is co-supported by the Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies at American University’s School of Public Affairs, and the lecture is held in the fall at American University during the orientation of the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program. Submit a nomination here!

Barbara Sinclair taught at the University of California, Riverside, and University of California, Los Angeles, and was a member of the 1978-1979 class of APSA Congressional Fellows. She served her fellowship placement with House Majority Leader Jim Wright of Texas. She published the seminal work Majority Leadership in the U.S. House after her fellowship year and authored landmark studies of Congress throughout her career. Dr. Sinclair left a lasting mark not only for her scholarship but also for her service to the discipline. She was a dedicated mentor to new groups of scholars and served for many years as a member of the Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee.

About the 2019 Award Recipient

Frances E. Lee is professor of politics and public affairs at Princeton University.  Her research has appeared in the American Political Science Review, American Journal of Political Science, Journal of Politics, Legislative Studies Quarterly, and other outlets.  She is editor of the Cambridge Elements Series in American Politics and a series editor for the Chicago Studies in American Politics.