APSA Awards: Submit Nominations for the 2018 Hubert H. Humphrey Award

The Hubert H. Humphrey Award is given annually in recognition of notable public service by a political scientist.  It carries a prize of $1,000.  The award is intended to honor former Vice President Humphrey’s distinguished career and life of public service.  In order to be eligible for the award, nominees must have completed a Ph.D. in political science. This award will be presented at the APSA Annual Meeting.

Nominations must be received by Monday, February 12, 2018.  Submit a nomination here! 

About the 2017 Award Recipient
Lloyd Axworthy is President and Vice Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg. Formerly Director and CEO of the Liu Institute for Global Issues at the University of British Columbia and Canada’s Foreign Minister from 1995 to 2000, Lloyd Axworthy’s political career spanned 27 years, during six of which he served in the Manitoba Legislative Assembly and twenty-one in the Federal Parliament. He held several Cabinet positions, notably Minister of Employment and Immigration, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Minister of Transport, Minister of Human Resources Development, Minister of Western Economic Diversification and Minister of Foreign Affairs.

In the Foreign Affairs portfolio, Dr. Axworthy became internationally known for his advancement of the human security concept, in particular, the Ottawa Treaty – a landmark global treaty banning anti-personnel landmines. For his leadership on landmines, he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. For his efforts in establishing the International Criminal Court and the Protocol on child soldiers, he received the North-South Institute’s Peace Award.[]