The APSA 2020 Council Nominations

The APSA Nominating Committee is pleased to announce its 2020 nominees for APSA Council. Each has agreed to serve if elected.

The call for nominations was circulated among the membership, and outreach specifically to APSA committees and organized sections was conducted. The committee made its decisions after careful deliberation and consideration for the diversity of the field and the varied interests of political scientists. The candidates, along with any additional nominations by petition, will be put to a vote by the full membership via electronic ballot in July. Additional information about APSA elections, including instructions for submitting nominees by petition, is available here.

The 2019-2020 nominating committee is Stacie Goddard, Wellesley College (chair); Richard Boyd, Georgetown University; Rebecca Glazier, University of Arkansas at Little Rock; Alan Jacobs, University of British Columbia; Gabe Sanchez, University of New Mexico; and Janelle Wong, University of Maryland.



John Ishiyama
University of North Texas

Vice President

Michelle Deardorff
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga

Mala Htun
University of New Mexico

John Sides
Vanderbilt University


David Lublin
American University


Menna Demessie
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

Terry Gilmour
Midland College

Catherine Guisan
University of Minnesota

Nancy Hirschmann
University of Pennsylvania

Nahomi Ichino
Emory University

Tamara Metz
Reed College

Ido Oren
University of Florida

Jillian Schwedler
Hunter College