Rosemary O’Leary – 2016 John Gaus Award Recipient

The John Gaus Award and Lectureship honors the recipient’s lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration and, more generally, recognizes and encourages scholarship in public administration.

rosemary-olearyThe American Political Science Association (APSA) is proud to confer the 2016 John Gaus award upon Professor Rosemary O’Leary for her “lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration.”  Professor O’Leary is the Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor at the School of Public Affairs, University of Kansas and is a Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration.

Professor O’Leary has made outstanding contributions to our knowledge about environmental law and policy, collaboration, and managing dissent within public organizations.  She has authored 11 books and over 125 articles and book chapters. Her accomplishments have been recognized through several prestigious awards such as the American Society for Public Administration’s Dwight Waldo Award (2014) and the Charles H. Levine Memorial Award (2007).

Professor O’Leary is a leader in her field.  As noted in her nomination letter, “In almost all of her scholarship, she works with others—collaborating, co-authoring, convening, and engaging others in the best of academic public administration, political science, and policy studies.” Professor O’Leary’s scholarly achievements epitomize the lifetime of exemplary scholarship envisaged by APSA for this award.

Special thanks to our committee Lael Keiser (Chair), University of Missouri, Columbia; Frances Berry, Florida State University; Dan Carpenter, Harvard University