APSA Minority Fellowship Program Spring Applications Due March 15 – Meet MFP Fellow Abigail Bowen 

Abigail Bowen is a second year PhD student at Georgia State University. She received her Bachelor of Arts in political science and nonprofit leadership with a minor in servant leadership at LaGrange College, where she graduated summa cum laude. As an undergraduate, Bowen was a member of the Omicron Delta Kappa honor society and the Servant Scholars Program dedicated to service and leadership. She served as chapter treasurer for Alpha Omicron Pi, vice president of the Gender Equality Movement, and president of the LaGrange College Political Science Association. She received the Pi Sigma Alpha Outstanding Achievement award her senior year for her research and performance in the classroom. During her first year as a PhD student, Bowen was the inaugural recipient of the Research Fellowship in Experimental Methods of Research on Decision Making and Institutional Performance. She also served as first year representative for the political science graduate student association. Bowen is concentrating on American politics and research methods in her studies. She is particularly interested in the politics of identity and the intersection of race, gender and orientation in America. Bowen is currently a coauthor on a project regarding white attitudes toward immigration in the United States. She is focusing on gender politics for her master’s non-thesis. See all current MFP bios.

The 2018 APSA Spring Minority Fellowship Program for first and second year graduate students deadline for applications is March 15, 2018. Submit your application here.

About the APSA Minority Fellowship Program
The Minority Fellows Program (MFP) is a fellowship competition for individuals from underrepresented backgrounds applying to or in the early stages of doctoral programs in political science. The MFP was established in 1969 (originally as the Black Graduate Fellowship) to increase the number of minority scholars in the discipline. Each year, APSA awards up to 12 funded fellowships in the amount of $4,000. Learn more here.